’Tis the season to be reason(able)

9B07E6E1-3C4C-4DCD-A7D1-03A21A83C7FFPeace on earth and goodwill to all men.  Unless you have a pulse, then you take your chances.

Seriously, I hope you are all well, and if I could hug every one of you, I would. Really. And not because Christmas makes me mushy.  Well, the non-commercial, buy-everything-in-sight-whether-you-need-it-or-not side of it.

I’m talking about the shelf-elf free humanity huggingness of this time of year.  It’s good that we can attempt to set aside a portion of the year at least to try to be nicer to others.  Especially in the face of everything that surrounds us at the moment.

If only we didn’t need an excuse to try.

I stand back and see what you humans do to each other and it puzzles me.  Are you lot trying to be oil and water, or what?  Does somebody really have to be a carbon copy of you before you’re prepared to love them – or even accept them? Or, even… just acknowledge them.

What would it take to make you all realise that you’re all in this life thing together and none of us are getting out of it alive?

It would also be good if we didn’t set Christmas aside as a distinct window for compassion.  If that care and concern for others could just leak out into the rest of the year.  You know, the way the commercial side of it has… Or perhaps tinsel in the shops in September in the Universe’s way of reminding us that love for your fellow human isn’t restricted to December.  I think the person who started the whole Christmas thing off would approve.  Baby steps.

Rant over.

Here’s a really bad cracker joke…

Why are Christmas trees so bad at sewing?
They always drop their needles!

And I’m out…

 


Follow me on Twitter @EverydayVampire

…because you’re worth it.

Leave a comment